Public Joint Stock Company Gazprom Neft
Sanctioned entityRussia. Named in 18 sanctions listings.
Summary
On September 16, 2008, Gazprom Neft was added to the Florida State Board of Administration List of Prohibited Investments (Scrutinized Companies) due to its involvement in Iran. As of March 9, 2021, Gazprom Neft remains on the SBA list of prohibited investments. (https://www.sbafla.com/fsb/Portals/FSB/Content/Performance/Quarterly/2021_03_09_Web_Update_PFIA_Prohibited_List.pdf?ver=2021-03-09-134849-587)
For more information on directives, please visit the following link: http://www.treasury.gov/resource-center/sanctions/Programs/Pages/ukraine.aspx#directives.
Gazprom Neft is listed on the 4Q 2020 Minnesota State Board of Investment List of Unauthorized (Scrutinized) Iran Companies. (https://www.lrl.mn.gov/docs/2021/mandated/210295.pdf)
(also GAZPROM NEFT OAO, JSC GAZPROM NEFT, OPEN JOINT-STOCK COMPANY GAZPROM NEFT, SIBIRSKAYA NEFTYANAYA KOMPANIYA OAO)
In 2017 the U.S. states of Alaska, Florida, Mississippi lists Gazprom Neft on its list of companies doing material business with Iran rendering Gazprom Neft ineligible for investment and/or state contracting. (http://treasury.dor.alaska.gov/Portals/3/docs/ARMB%20Iran%20Divestment%20List%2012-31-17.pdf) (https://www.sbafla.com/fsb/Portals/FSB/Content/GlobalGovernanceMandates/QuarterlyReports/2017/Global_Governance_Mandates_and_Florida%20Statutes_2017_12_13.pdf?ver=2017-12-13-145507-737) (http://www.dfa.ms.gov/media/4100/companies-posted.pdf)
As of December 31, 2019, the Alaska Retirement Management Board lists Gazprom Neft as a company doing material business with Iran. (https://treasury.dor.alaska.gov/Portals/3/docs/resolutions/ARMB Iran Divestment List 12-31-19.pdf)
Gazprom Neft is listed on the June 2019 Alaska Retirement Management Board, Companies Doing Material Business with Iran list. (http://treasury.dor.alaska.gov/Portals/3/docs/resolutions/ARMB%20Iran%20Divestment%20List%206-30-19.pdf)
Gazprom Neft, the oil division of Russian gas major Gazprom, presented its development plan for Iran's Azar and Changuleh oilfields on Monday. The presentation took place in a meeting in Tehran between Gazprom Neft executives and National Iranian Oil Company officials led by deputy chief Gholamreza Manouchehri, the NIOC news portal reported. (December 20, 2017). (https://financialtribune.com/articles/energy/78290/gazprom-neft-presents-iran-oilfield-proposals)
www.gazprom-neft.com
On March 13, 2019, the Mississippi Department of Finance & Administration identified Gazprom Neft as a company “engaged in investment activities in Iran, providing funds, goods or services valued at $20,000,000 or more in the energy sector of Iran." (https://www.dfa.ms.gov/media/8124/businesses-doing-business-with-iran.pdf)
(also GAZPROM NEFT JOINT STOCK COMPANY)
Transport sanctions: where transport sanctions apply, a ship owned, controlled, chartered or operated by a designated person is prohibited from entering a port in the UK, may be given a movement or a port entry direction, can be detained, and will be refused permission to register on the UK Ship Register or have its existing registration terminated. Similarly, an aircraft owned, chartered or operated by a designated person is prohibited from overflying or landing in the UK, may be given a movement direction, can be detained or moved to a specified airport, and will be refused permission to register on the CAA Aircraft Register or have its existing registration terminated. This also includes a prohibition of technical assistance relating to aircraft and ships: a prohibition on the provision of technical assistance relating to aircraft or ships will prevent a person from directly or indirectly providing technical assistance to, or for the benefit of, the designated person, where that technical assistance relates to an aircraft or ship. The Director Disqualification Sanction was imposed on 09/04/2025.
"Gazprom Neft has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Iran’s Oil Industries’ Engineering & Construction (OIEC) confirming both companies’ mutual interest in combining forces in the preliminary assessment and investigation of the geological potential of oil fields located in the Islamic Republic of Iran. The document was signed by First Deputy CEO, Gazprom Neft, Vadim Yakovlev and OIEC CEO Behzad Mohammadi." (July 2017) (https://www.unitedagainstnucleariran.com/http://www.gazprom-neft.com/press-center/news/1120310)
Gazprom Neft is listed on the March 2019 Alaska Retirement Management Board, Companies Doing Material Business with Iran list. (http://treasury.dor.alaska.gov/Portals/3/docs/resolutions/ARMB%20Iran%20Divestment%20List%203-31-19.pdf)
Gazprom Neft is listed on the June 4, 2019 and July 12, 2019 Florida State Board of Administration list of prohibited investments (Scrutinized companies) for Iran related business. (https://www.sbafla.com/fsb/Portals/FSB/Content/Performance/Quarterly/2019_07_12_Web_Update_PFIA_Prohibited_List.pdf?ver=2019-07-12-114201-343)
"Gazprom Neft, the oil division of Russian gas major Gazprom, presented its development plan for Iran's Azar and Changuleh oilfields on Monday....The two companies signed a memorandum of understanding in July in the Russian city of St. Petersburg to join forces for conducting the assessment of geological potentials of Changuleh and Azar in Ilam Province." (December 2017) (https://financialtribune.com/articles/energy/78290/gazprom-neft-presents-iran-oilfield-proposals)
On June 1, 2020, the Ohio Police & Fire Pension Fund (“OP&F”) listed Gazprom Neft on its scrutinized companies Iran/Sudan list.On September 24, 2008, OP&F adopted an Iran and Sudan Divestment Policy, which notes, “[t]he purpose of this Policy is to divest and restrict the purchase of stocks and bonds (“direct holdings”) issued by a publicly traded Company… with “scrutinized active business operations” in Iran and Sudan.” (https://www.op-f.org/Files/Scrutinized Companies Iran Sudan.pdf)
In 2018 the U.S. state of Ohio listed Gazprom Neft on its Iran prohibited companies list rendering Gazprom neft ineligible for investment and/or state contracting. (https://www.op-f.org/Files/Scrutinized%20Companies%20Iran%20Sudan.pdf)
On January 20, 2020, Minnesota SBI listed Gazprom Neft as a scrutinized investment. The managers are explicitly instructed to refrain from purchasing securities on this list. (https://www.leg.state.mn.us/docs/2020/mandated/200121.pdf)
As of May 28, 2020, the Florida State Board of Administration (“SBA”) continues to list Gazprom Neft on its list of “Scrutinized companies with Activities in the Iran Petroleum Energy Sector (https://www.unitedagainstnucleariran.com/company/china-nonferrous-metal-mining-group)
In 2020, the U.S. state of Mississippi listed Gazprom Neft on its state lists of Companies Doing Business with the Iranian Petroleum/Natural Gas, Nuclear and Military Sectors, rendering it ineligible for investment and/or state contracting. (https://www.dfa.ms.gov/media/sd1ccddh/businesses-doing-business-with-iran-12-4.docx)
On January 13, 2020, the South Dakota Investment Council submitted a report to the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council regarding compliance with SDCL 4-5-48 to 4-5-60, Iran Divestiture. Included in this report is an Iran Scrutinized Companies list of all prohibited investments for which the internal managers and direct external managers are instructed not to purchase any company on the list. Gazprom Neft is included on this list (https://sdlegislature.gov/docs/referencematerials/requiredreports/RR901152020.pdf)
(also OJSC GAZPROM NEFT)
Sanctions and listings18
- Effective
- 8 Jun 2022
Russia Sanctions Act 2022
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and TradeNew Zealand Russia SanctionsNew ZealandSanctioned
Aircraft Ban, service prohibition, dealing with securities, asset freeze and ship ban
Involved in the undermining of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity
Programme NZ-RSA2022mfat.govt.nz
- Listed
- 12 Nov 2014; 4 Mar 2022
Measures In Relation To The Situation In Ukraine - Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41
State Secretariat for Economic AffairsSwiss SECO Sanctions/EmbargoesSwitzerland
Programme SECO-UKRAINEReference 29272seco.admin.chseco.admin.ch
- Listed
- 24 Feb 2022
Special Economic Measures Act - Russia
Global Affairs CanadaCanadian Consolidated Autonomous Sanctions List on the Russian invasion of UkraineCanada
The following financial, defence, energy entities were sanctioned for their role in enabling or supporting Russia’s unprovoked and unjustified invasion of Ukraine.
Programme CA-SEMAinternational.gc.cainternational.gc.ca
- Listed
- 24 Feb 2022
Special Economic Measures Act - Russia
Global Affairs CanadaCanadian Consolidated Autonomous Sanctions ListCanada
1, Part 2
Programme CA-SEMAReference 96international.gc.cainternational.gc.ca
- Listed
- 12 Sep 2014; 24 Feb 2022
- Effective
- 26 Mar 2022
Sectoral Sanctions Identifications (SSI) List - Sectoral Sanctions Identifications List
Office of Foreign Assets ControlUS OFAC Consolidated (non-SDN) ListUnited States
13662 Sectoral Directive 2, RUSSIA-EO14024, UKRAINE-EO13662, block, executive order 14024 directive 3 and 13662 sectoral directive 4
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 4
Secondary sanctions risk: Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions Regulations, 31 CFR 589.201 and/or 589.209
Executive Order 14024 Directive Information: For more information on directives, please visit the following link: https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/financial-sanctions/sanctions-programs-and-country-information/russian-harmful-foreign-activities-sanctions#directives
Secondary sanctions risk: See Section 11 of Executive Order 14024.
Executive Order 14024 Directive Information: Subject to Directive 3 - All transactions in, provision of financing for, and other dealings in new debt of longer than 14 days maturity or new equity where such new debt or new equity is issued on or after the 'Effective Date (EO 14024 Directive)' associated with this name are prohibited.
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 2
Executive Order 14024 (Russia)
Executive Order 13662 (Ukraine)
Programme US-SSIReference 17143treasury.govofac.treasury.gov
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 12 Sep 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
UK Russia financial and investment restrictions
Office of Financial Sanctions ImplementationUK HMT/OFSI Investment BansUnited Kingdom
Programme GB-RUS-INVgov.uk
- Listed
- 26 Jan 2017
- Effective
- 12 Sep 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 26 Jan 2017
- Effective
- 12 Sep 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 12 Sep 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 12 Sep 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 12 Sep 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Effective
- 10 Jan 2025
UK sanctions relating to Russia - The Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019
UK; Foreign, Commonwealth & Development OfficeUK FCDO Sanctions ListUnited Kingdom
Transport sanctions: see "Other information", trust services sanctions, asset freeze, transport sanctions: see 'other information' and director disqualification sanction
GAZPROM NEFT is an involved person under the Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 based on the following grounds: 1) GAZPROM NEFT is or has been involved in obtaining a benefit from or supporting the Government of Russia by carrying on business in a sector of strategic significance to the Government of Russia, namely the Russian energy sector; and 2) GAZPROM NEFT is or has been involved in obtaining a benefit from or supporting the Government of Russia by carrying on business of economic significance to the Government of Russia.
Programme GB-RUSReference 16736Reference RUS2383Last updated 9 Apr 2025gov.ukgov.uk
- Listed
- 25 Mar 2022
Measures In Relation To The Situation In Ukraine - Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41
State Secretariat for Economic AffairsSwiss SECO Sanctions/EmbargoesSwitzerland
Programme SECO-UKRAINEReference 52773seco.admin.chseco.admin.ch
- Listed
- 28 Jan 2025
- Effective
- 10 Jan 2025
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
Russia Sanctions Regime - Autonomous (Russia)
Department of Foreign Affairs and TradeAustralian Sanctions Consolidated ListAustralia
Targeted financial sanction
Autonomous Sanctions (Designated Persons and Entities and Declared Persons—Ukraine) Amendment (No. 12) Instrument 2022
Programme AU-RUSSIALast updated 14 Apr 2022dfat.gov.audfat.gov.au
- Listed
- 24 Feb 2022; 10 Jan 2025
- Effective
- 26 Mar 2022
Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions - UKRAINE-EO13662
Office of Foreign Assets ControlUS OFAC Specially Designated Nationals (SDN) ListUnited States
13662 Sectoral Directive 2, RUSSIA-EO14024, UKRAINE-EO13662, executive order 14024 directive 3, block and 13662 sectoral directive 4
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 4
Secondary sanctions risk: Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions Regulations, 31 CFR 589.201 and/or 589.209
Executive Order 14024 Directive Information: For more information on directives, please visit the following link: https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/financial-sanctions/sanctions-programs-and-country-information/russian-harmful-foreign-activities-sanctions#directives
Secondary sanctions risk: See Section 11 of Executive Order 14024.
Executive Order 14024 Directive Information: Subject to Directive 3 - All transactions in, provision of financing for, and other dealings in new debt of longer than 14 days maturity or new equity where such new debt or new equity is issued on or after the 'Effective Date (EO 14024 Directive)' associated with this name are prohibited.
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 2
Executive Order 14024 (Russia)
Executive Order 13662 (Ukraine)
Programme US-UKRRUS-RELReference 17143treasury.govofac.treasury.gov
- Effective
- 17 Sep 2014
BIS Entity List (EL) - Entity List (EL) - Bureau of Industry and Security
Entity List (EL) - Bureau of Industry and Security; Department of the Commerce - International Trade AdministrationUS Trade Consolidated Screening List (CSL)United States
See § 746.8(b)(2) of the EAR
For all items subject to the EAR when used in projects specified in § 746.8(a)(4) of the EAR
Programme US-BIS-ELReference 79 FR 55612Reference 89 FR 51653bis.govtrade.govbis.doc.gov
Connections10
Owns8
- Gazprom Neft Kazakhstan LLCSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByKazakhstan
- MUNAI MYRZA CJSCSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByKyrgyzstan
- NAFTNA INDUSTRIJA SRBIJE AD NOVI SADSanctionedDebarredExport controlledTrade riskShare not statedSerbia
- GAZPROM NEFT AZIA LLCSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByRussiaKyrgyzstan
- gazprom neft international saSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByLuxembourg
- CHAMAIYATI DOROI MASAULIYATI MAKHDUDI GAZPROM NEFT TADZHIKISTANSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByTajikistan
Owned by1
- OPEN JOINT STOCK COMPANY GAZPROMSanctionedDebarredExport controlledTrade riskShare not statedRussia
Other links1
- OPEN JOINT STOCK COMPANY GAZPROMSanctionedDebarredExport controlledTrade riskLinked to"Affiliate"Russia
Identifiers12
| Identifier | Number | Issued by |
|---|---|---|
| ID number | 1025501701686 | |
| ID number | 42045241 | |
| ID number | 5504036333 | |
| INN code | 5504036333 | |
| Registration number | 1025501701686 | |
| Tax number | 5504036333 | |
| Government gazette number | 42045241 | Russia |
| Registration number | 1025501701686 | Russia |
| Tax ID no | 5504036333 | Russia |
| Registration number | 1025501701686 | Russia |
| Tax ID no | 5504036333 | Russia |
| Government gazette number | 42045241 | Russia |
Other names23
Also known as23
Show 5 moreShow fewer
Addresses11
5, Let. A, Galernaya Saint Petersburg 190000 Russia
5 Let. A. Galernaya, Saint Petersburg, Russia, 190000
3-5 Pochtamtskaya St., St. Petersburg, 190000
d. 3-5 litera A Ch. Pom. 1N kab. 2401, ul. Pochtamtskaya, St. Petersburg, 190000
5, Let. A Saint Petersburg 190000 Russia
125 A Profsoyuznaya Street, Moscow, 117647, Russia
5, LET. A, GALERNAYA, SAINT PETERSBURG, 190000
LET. A. GALERNAYA, 5, UL, ST. PETERSBURG, 190000
d. 3-5 litera A Ch. Pom. 1N kab. 2401, ul. Pochtamtskaya St. Petersburg 190000 Russia
125 A. Profsoyuznaya Street, Moscow, 117647
Ul. Pochtamtskaya, 3-5, St. Petersburg, 190000
This page shows the public record as its publishers state it. A name here is not by itself a finding: whether a record refers to a particular person or company is what screening decides. Read the full notice.