Open Joint-Stock Company Rosneft Oil Company
Sanctioned entityRussia. Named in 18 sanctions listings.
Summary
The company name appears in Annex 16 of the UN Panel of Experts August 2020 report, which is part of a discussion about the conversion rate of barrels (petroleum) and the annual limit of petroleum exports to the DPRK.
"Minister of Petroleum Bijan Zangeneh and visiting Executive Chairman of Russian heavyweight oil company Rosneft Igor Sechin met here on Tuesday to review investment in Iran's development projects. In November, a delegation from Rosneft met Iranian officials with the swap of oil and gas on agenda of negotiations. A joint committee was set up to continue the talks between the two sides, ministry sources told Shana. The Russian firms are interested in IOR and EOR projects and development of Iran's oil and gas fields." (Shana, "Zangeneh, Rosneft CEO Discuss Joint Oil Projects," 12/8/15) (http://t.uani.com/1QvQdwe)
Website: http://www.rosneft.ru/
Rosneft is listed in the March 1, 2019, Report to the New Jersey Legislature Iran Divestment Act. (https://www.nj.gov/treasury/doinvest/pdf/index/Iran_Progress_Report.pdf)
"During the visit of the Russian President Vladimir Putin to the Islamic Republic of Iran Rosneft Oil Company and National Iranian Oil Company signed the “Road Map and Key Terms of Strategic Cooperation in the Field of Oil and Gas”. This document confirms the parties high level of interest in developing long-term and mutually beneficial cooperation in key areas of business, including exploration and production, field services, local application of technology, as well as training for personnel." (November 1, 2017) (https://www.rosneft.com/press/releases/item/188381/)
"Russian state oil giant Rosneft has reportedly canceled its plans to invest in joint projects worth up to $30 billion with the National Iranian Oil Company over fears of U.S. sanctions, the Vedomosti business daily has said, citing anonymous sources close to the Russian company." (Moscow Times, "Rosneft Pulls Out of $30 Bln Iran Oil Project Over Fears of U.S. Sanctions, Media Reports," 12/13/2018). (https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/13/rosneft-pulls-out-of-30-bln-iran-oil-project-over-fears-us-sanctions-media-reports-a63811)
Rosneft is listed as a prohibited company in the March 2020 and March 2021 Report to the New Jersey Legislature Iran Divestment Act. (https://web.archive.org/web/20201016170109/https://www.nj.gov/treasury/doinvest/pdf/index/Iran_Progress_Report.pdf) (https://www.nj.gov/treasury/doinvest/pdf/index/Iran_Progress_Report.pdf)
Russian oil major Rosneft [ROSN.MM], is also preparing to halt Iranian oil imports from November after a communication from the Kremlin. The company has already started cutting its oil imports from this month. (June 29, 2018). (https://www.reuters.com/article/us-oil-iran-europe/spooked-by-trump-europes-iranian-oil-purchases-set-to-plummet-idUSKBN1JP1P4)
Transport sanctions: Where transport sanctions apply, a ship owned, controlled, chartered or operated by a designated person is prohibited from entering a port in the UK, may be given a movement or a port entry direction, can be detained, and will be refused permission to register on the UK Ship Register or have its existing registration terminated. Similarly, an aircraft owned, chartered or operated by a designated person is prohibited from overflying or landing in the UK, may be given a movement direction, can be detained or moved to a specified airport, and will be refused permission to register on the CAA Aircraft Register or have its existing registration terminated. In addition to a prohibition of the provision of technical assistance relating to aircraft or ships will prevent a person from directly or indirectly providing technical assistance to, or for the benefit of, the designated person, where that technical assistance relates to an aircraft or ship.
For more information on directives, please visit the following link: http://www.treasury.gov/resource-center/sanctions/Programs/Pages/ukraine.aspx#directives.
"Russia’s largest oil producer Rosneft is interested in oil and gas projects in Iran’s Zagros province, after signing a deal last year to do business in the country, an official document showed on Friday." (April 6, 2018). (https://www.reuters.com/article/us-russia-rosneft-iran/russias-rosneft-interested-in-oil-gas-in-irans-zagros-province-document-idUSKCN1HD228)
(also OPEN JOINT-STOCK COMPANY ROSNEFT OIL COMPANY)
(also ROSNEFT, OIL COMPANY ROSNEFT, OAO ROSNEFT OIL COMPANY, ROSNEFT OIL COMPANY, OJSC ROSNEFT OIL COMPANY)
Sanctions and listings18
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 12 Nov 2014; 4 Mar 2022
Measures In Relation To The Situation In Ukraine - Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41
State Secretariat for Economic AffairsSwiss SECO Sanctions/EmbargoesSwitzerland
Programme SECO-UKRAINEReference 29266seco.admin.chseco.admin.ch
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 16 Jul 2014
Sectoral Sanctions Identifications (SSI) List - Sectoral Sanctions Identifications List
Office of Foreign Assets ControlUS OFAC Consolidated (non-SDN) ListUnited States
13662 Sectoral Directive 2, RUSSIA-EO14024, UKRAINE-EO13662, block and 13662 sectoral directive 4
Secondary sanctions risk: Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions Regulations, 31 CFR 589.201 and/or 589.209
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 4
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 2
Secondary sanctions risk: See Section 11 of Executive Order 14024.
Executive Order 14024 (Russia)
Executive Order 13662 (Ukraine)
Programme US-SSIReference 17022treasury.govofac.treasury.gov
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Effective
- 15 Oct 2025
UK sanctions relating to Russia - The Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019
UK; Foreign, Commonwealth & Development OfficeUK FCDO Sanctions ListUnited Kingdom
Transport sanctions: see "Other information", trust services sanctions, asset freeze, transport sanctions: see 'other information' and director disqualification sanction
PJSC Rosneft Oil Company (hereafter ROSNEFT) is an involved person under the Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 based on the following grounds: 1) ROSNEFT is or has been involved in obtaining a benefit from or supporting the Government of Russia by carrying on business in a sector of strategic significance to the Government of Russia, namely the Russian energy sector; and 2) ROSNEFT is or has been involved in obtaining a benefit from or supporting the Government of Russia by carrying on business of economic significance to the Government of Russia.
Programme GB-RUSReference RUS3064Reference 17169Last updated 15 Oct 2025gov.ukgov.uk
- Effective
- 17 Sep 2014
BIS Entity List (EL) - Entity List (EL) - Bureau of Industry and Security
Entity List (EL) - Bureau of Industry and Security; Department of the Commerce - International Trade AdministrationUS Trade Consolidated Screening List (CSL)United States
See § 746.8(b)(2) of the EAR
For all items subject to the EAR when used in projects specified in § 746.8(a)(4) of the EAR
Programme US-BIS-ELReference 79 FR 55612Reference 89 FR 51653bis.govtrade.govbis.doc.gov
- Listed
- 25 Mar 2022
Measures In Relation To The Situation In Ukraine - Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41
State Secretariat for Economic AffairsSwiss SECO Sanctions/EmbargoesSwitzerland
Programme SECO-UKRAINEReference 52767seco.admin.chseco.admin.ch
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 19 Feb 2026
Special Economic Measures Act - Russia
Global Affairs CanadaCanadian Consolidated Autonomous Sanctions ListCanada
1, Part 2
Programme CA-SEMAReference 821international.gc.cainternational.gc.ca
- Listed
- 22 Oct 2025
Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions - UKRAINE-EO13662
Office of Foreign Assets ControlUS OFAC Specially Designated Nationals (SDN) ListUnited States
13662 Sectoral Directive 2, RUSSIA-EO14024, UKRAINE-EO13662, block and 13662 sectoral directive 4
Secondary sanctions risk: Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions Regulations, 31 CFR 589.201 and/or 589.209
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 4
Executive Order 13662 Directive Determination: Subject to Directive 2
Secondary sanctions risk: See Section 11 of Executive Order 14024.
Executive Order 14024 (Russia)
Executive Order 13662 (Ukraine)
Programme US-UKRRUS-RELReference 17022treasury.govofac.treasury.gov
- Effective
- 8 Jun 2022
Russia Sanctions Act 2022
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and TradeNew Zealand Russia SanctionsNew ZealandSanctioned
Aircraft Ban, service prohibition, dealing with securities, asset freeze and ship ban
Involved in the undermining of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity
Programme NZ-RSA2022mfat.govt.nz
- Listed
- 26 Jan 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
UK Russia financial and investment restrictions
Office of Financial Sanctions ImplementationUK HMT/OFSI Investment BansUnited Kingdom
Programme GB-RUS-INVgov.uk
- Listed
- 26 Jan 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
- Listed
- 19 Feb 2026
Special Economic Measures Act - Russia
Global Affairs CanadaCanadian Consolidated Autonomous Sanctions List on the Russian invasion of UkraineCanada
Canada is imposing sanctions against 54 entities that contribute to Russia's war efforts, including energy companies and energy trading networks, financial entities enabling sanctions evasion, entities in Russia's artificial intelligence ecosystem and drone manufacturing sector, and procurement and evasion networks supporting Russia's defence-industrial base. Canada is also moving an entity listed under Schedule 3 to Schedule 1.
Programme CA-SEMAinternational.gc.cainternational.gc.ca
- Listed
- 3 Feb 2017
- Effective
- 16 Jul 2014
Reciprocal
OFACUS SAM Procurement ExclusionsUnited StatesActive
Prohibition/Restriction
Redacted for Security Reasons
Russia Sanctions Regime - Autonomous (Russia)
Department of Foreign Affairs and TradeAustralian Sanctions Consolidated ListAustralia
Targeted financial sanction
Autonomous Sanctions (Designated Persons and Entities and Declared Persons—Russia and Ukraine) Amendment (No. 6) Instrument 2023
Programme AU-RUSSIALast updated 19 May 2023dfat.gov.audfat.gov.au
Connections21
Owns20
- OJSC ANGARSK PETROCHEMICAL COMPANYSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByRussia
- ROSNEFT MARINE (UK) LIMITEDSanctionedFrozen assetShare not statedParent companyUnited Kingdom
- RN KOMSOMOLSKIY REFINERY LLCSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByRussia
- OJSC ORENBURGNEFTSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByRussia
- PJSC VERKHNECHONSKNEFTEGAZSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByRussia
- CJSC VANKORNEFTSanctionedDebarredExport controlledShare not statedOwned or Controlled ByRussia
Owned by1
- RAO RosneftegazstroyTrade riskShare not statedRussia
Identifiers13
| Identifier | Number | Issued by |
|---|---|---|
| ID number | 1027700043502 | |
| ID number | 7706107510 | |
| ID number | 00044428 | |
| INN code | 7706107510 | |
| LEI | 253400JT3MQWNDKMJE44 | |
| Registration number | 1027700043502 | |
| Tax number | 7706107510 | |
| Government gazette number | 00044428 | Russia |
| Registration ID | 1027700043502 | Russia |
| Tax ID no | 7706107510 | Russia |
| Registration ID | 1027700043502 | Russia |
| Tax ID no | 7706107510 | Russia |
| Government gazette number | 00044428 | Russia |
Other names20
Also known as20
Show 2 moreShow fewer
Addresses8
26/1, Sofiyskaya Embankment, Moscow, 117997
26/1 Sofiyskaya Embankment, Moscow, Russia
115035, RUSSIA, MOSCOW, SOFIYSKAYA NABEREZHNAYA,26/1
26/1 Sofiyskaya Embankment Moscow 115035 RU
26/1 Sofiyskaya Embankment. Moscow
26/1 SOFIYSKAYA EMBANKMENT, MOSCOW, 115035
26/1, Sofiyskaya Embankment, Moscow, Russia, 115035
26/1 Sofiyskaya Embankment Moscow 115035 Russia
This page shows the public record as its publishers state it. A name here is not by itself a finding: whether a record refers to a particular person or company is what screening decides. Read the full notice.